Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Sushi King Halal Status?

My dear friends, it has been a while forget to feed you any worthy information. Things matter to me is, food. Not only food type, ingredient, taste and brand. There some missing ingredient that you must take a weight of. Halal consciousness. I received an email from unknown inform me that matter above. Since most of us live in urban area and practice as well grown urban-folk,please don’t let your guard down by consuming non-halal product.

Question:Dear Marilyn,

Another element of halal is on the use of alcohol in food preparation / cooking or the presence of alcohol in the ingredient use such as sauces etc.Can you tell me whether Sushi King use alcohol or use materials
(such as sauces) that content alcohol?

Dear Mr. Abdul Rahman Omar,

Thank you for your email. For your information, we are not a Halal restaurant as we do not have certification from JAKIM, but we only can claim us as Pork free. All our meat based products like chicken and beef are Halal Certified and we do not use any pork or pork derivatives in our restaurant. Sushi King is not certified ‘Halal’. This is due to some of our food contains ‘Mirin’.Mirin is derived from fermentation of rice and it is commonly used in Japanese cooking to enhance the taste of food.

Following are products that contains Mirin:

1. Unagi Kabayaki
2. Unagi Slice
3. Karei Nitsuke
4. Saba Misoni
5. Mamakari
6. Ikura

On top of that, some of our restaurants do sell beer.However, our meat materials such as chicken, beef and seafood are from Halal Certified source.
Hope this clarifies your concern.

Thank you.
Warmest Regards,

Marilyn Lim
Marketing Department
Sushi Kin Sdn. Bhd.
Tel: 03-56319060 Ext: 283

Bare in mind, not all branded company willing to sacrifice their gold to produce goods naturally. Sometime, they use rubbish to make gold. Gold for them, rubbish for consumer (us). Have a good day!

foot note:
About Mirin:

Mirin is a Japanese condiment which contains about 14% alcohol. To make mirin, steamed mochi-gome (glutinous rice), kome-koji (cultured rice), and shochu (distilled alcoholic beverage) are mixed and fermented for about 2 months. Mirin produced this way is called hon-mirin, as distinguished from mirin-style condiments (mirin-fu chomiryo) which is made to resemble the flavor of mirin. Mirin-style condiments contain less than 1% alcohol, and they are usually cheaper than hon-mirin. Well-known Japanese brands for mirin are Takara and Mitsukan.